Council of the Agora

In the Council of the Agora, key stakeholders in the energy policy debate come together on a regular basis. The Council is a place of open and honest discussion and exchange – underpinned by scientific expertise.

Thereby we want to help promote new models for solutions to the key challenges of the Energiewende.

So that members of the Council of the Agora can discuss openly and honestly with each other, the non-public meetings take place under Chatham House Rules. This means that spoken expressions made during the meetings will not be quoted with the name of the speaker.


Dr. Hans-Joachim Ziesing
Former Managing Director, AG Energiebilanzen
Former Member of the Commission of the Federal Government to Monitor the Energiewende

Federal Policy

Jochen Flasbarth
State Secretary in the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (a.D.)

Dr. Patrick Graichen
State Secretary in the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action

Mark Helfrich MP
Member of the Committee for Climate Action and Energy, Parliamentary Group of the CDU/CSU

Oliver Krischer MP
Parliamentary State Secretary in the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, Parliamentary Group of Alliance 90/The Greens

State-Level Politics 

Thekla Walker MP
Minister for the Environment, Climate and Energy Management of the State of Baden-Württemberg

EU Authorities

Mechthild Wörsdörfer
Deputy Director-General – Coordination of the just and green energy transition, DG ENER, European Commission

Federal Authorities

Jochen Homann
President of the Federal Network Agency (Bundesnetzagentur)

Labor Unions

Wolfgang Lemb
Executive Member of the Management Board of IG Metall

Michael Vassiliadis
Chairman of IG BCE

Environmental Organisations

Antje von Broock
Managing Director Politics & Communications at Friends of the Earth Germany (BUND)

Consumer Associations

Udo Sieverding
Member of the Board of the Consumer Association of North Rhine-Westphalia

Grid Networks

Manon van Beek
CEO of TenneT TSO GmbH

Energy-Intensive Industry

Dr. Erk Thorsten Heyen
Senior Vice President of Wacker Chemie AG

Energy Industry

Kerstin Andreae
Chairwoman of the Executive Board of the German Association of Energy and Water Industries (BDEW)

Dr. Florian Bieberbach
Chairman oft he Management Board of Stadtwerke München GmbH

Dr. Holger Krawinkel
Head of Customer Experience of MVV Energie AG

Klaus-Dieter Maubach
CEO of Uniper SE

Lothar Schulze
Head of Political Affairs of Windwärts Energie GmbH


Prof. Dr. Andreas Löschel
Chair of Environmental/Resource Economics and Sustainability, Ruhr University Bochum

Latest Update: 29/11/2021

Stay in touch. Subscribe to our newsletter.