Regional distribution of coal-fired power plants





- 1 Pavlodar region, 35 units, 8 427 MW
- 2 Karaganda region, 36 units, 2 221 MW
- 3 Almaty region, 14 units, 627 MW
- 4 Akmola region, 12 units, 562 MW
- 5 North Kazakhstan region, 12 units, 562 MW
- 6 East Kazakhstan region, 10 units, 405 MW
- 7 Kostanay region, 6 units, 267 MW
- 8 South Kazakhstan region, 3 units, 17 MW

Compiled on the basis of Assembayeva M. et al. (2019). Spatial electricity market data for the power system of Kazakhstan. Data in Brief. – Vol. 23. URL: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.dib.2019.103781. Note: in 2022, three regions of Kazakhstan were divided into two regions each. Here are the old borders of the regions.