Agora Council for Europe

The Agora Council for Europe, established in December 2021, convenes key representatives from European governments, the European Parliament, the EU Commission, industry associations and civil society for a regular, confidential exchange on critical elements in the ‘Fit for 55’ package. Council members discuss views informally and under strict Chatham House rules, with the purpose of deepening the mutual understanding of key problems and  policy options.

At Agora Energiewende, we have built over the years a tradition of dialogue with policymakers, stakeholders and experts. The Agora Council for Europe embodies this tradition, expanding and deepening our attention at the EU level as the ‘Fit for 55’ policy package takes shape in the months and years to come.


Jos Delbeke
Professor, European University Institute, Florence

Deputy Chair

Matthias Buck
Director Europe, Agora Energiewende

List of members in alphabetical order

Pascal Canfin
Member of the European Parliament, Renew Europe/France

Mohammed Chahim
Member of the European Parliament, S&D/Netherlands

Koen Coppenholle
Chief Executive Officer, The European Cement Association (CEMBUREAU)

Giles Dickson
Chief Executive Officer, WindEurope

Radu Dudău
Director, Energy Policy Group, Romania

Axel Eggert
Director General, The European Steel Association (EUROFER)

Bas Eickhout
Member of the European Parliament, Greens/Netherlands

Sven Giegold
Secretary of State, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, Germany

Monique Goyens
Director General, The European Consumer Organisation (BEUC)

Adam Guibourgé-Czetwertyński
Undersecretary of State, Ministry of Climate and Environment, Poland

Adrian Joyce
Secretary General, European Alliance of Companies for Energy Efficiency in Buildings (EuroACE)

Péter Kaderják
Senior Advisor, Ministry for Innovation and Technology, Hungary

Judith Kirton-Darling
Deputy General Secretary, IndustriALL-Europe

Terhi Lehtonen
State Secretary, Ministry for the Environment, Finland

Peter Liese
Member of the European Parliament, EPP/Germany

Joanna Maćkowiak-Pandera
President, Forum Energii, Poland

Marco Mensink
Director General, European Chemical Industry Council (CEFIC)

Teresa Ribera Rodríguez
Minister, Ministry for the Ecological Transition and the Demographic challenge, Spain

Kristian Ruby
Secretary General, Eurelectric

Gerassimos Thomas
Director General, DG TAXUD, European Commission

William Todts
Executive Director, Transport & Environment

Claude Turmes
Minister for Energy, Luxemburg

Mechthild Wörsdörfer
Deputy Director General, DG ENER, European Commission

Linda Zeilina
Chief Executive Officer, International Sustainable Finance Centre, Czech Republic

Latest Update: 30/11/2022

Stay in touch. Subscribe to our newsletter.